Menu
Shop for Rope Logic
Shop for Stein
Shop for Notch Equipment
Shop for 3M Peltor
Shop for AlturnaMats
Shop for Arborjet
Shop for Arborwear
Shop for ARS
Shop for ART
Shop for Berger
Shop for Black Diamond
Shop for Buckingham
Shop for Camp USA
Shop for Climb Right
Shop for Climbing Technology
Shop for CMI
Shop for Corona Tools
Shop for DMM
Shop for Doggett
Shop for Donaghys
Shop for Edelrid
Shop for Elvex
Shop for Fanno
Shop for Felco
Shop for Fred Marvin
Shop for Green
Shop for Husqvarna
Shop for ISC
Shop for Jameson Pruners
Shop for Kask Helmets
Shop for Klein Tools
Shop for Knife Source
Shop for Lift-All
Shop for Logrite
Shop for Marlow
Shop for Matt Cornell Rope Saddle
Shop for Mauget
Shop for Metolius
Shop for Nargear
Shop for New England Ropes
Shop for New Tribe
Shop for Oregon
Shop for Petzl
Shop for Pfanner
Shop for Quali-Pro Chemicals
Shop for Rock Exotica
Shop for Rockman
Shop for Rooted
Shop for Salewa
Shop for Samson Rope
Shop for Samurai
Shop for Save Edge Files
Shop for SENA
Shop for Silky Saws
Shop for SIP
Shop for Skylotec
Shop for Sterling Rope
Shop for Sugihara
Shop for Teufelberger
Shop for TreeStuff
Shop for Weaver Leather
Shop for Wichard
Shop for Yale Cordage
Shop for Youngstown Gloves

Reviews for HAAS Velox Ascent System

4.8 out of 5 star average customer rating based on 13 reviews


This will change the way you climb - 10/27/2017
Reviewer: Ben

Do you dream of sprinting up that climbing line? Now you can. I ended up getting the footloop model and paired it with my CT foot ascender. I keep my ascender on under my Gecko spikes and use the haas for the long ascents on removals. I leave it on entirely for prunes where spikes arent needed. It works perfectly with or without spikes. My Yale Blue moon tracks beautifully through it and I'm so happy I bought it! Best $180 I ever spent


Get a rhythm - 10/25/2017
Reviewer: Patrick A

I am using the HAAS on Stationary rope and Dynamic rope systems and it's working great. Once you get a rhythm and tune your foot work to the climbing method, there is no going back to a single shoe ascender. The device is light, I keep it on my ascending device but it can easily be clipped to your belt. After 20 or so ascents, it still looks new.
 


NICE - 09/01/2017
Reviewer: Andrew/ Apex Land Managent, LLC

Very easy to incorporate into rope wrench system. With a neck bungee to assist your hitch you literally can walk up the rope like a ladder, freeing your arms to utilize branches to stabilize and pull yourself up. Only setback I've noticed is now I am now 2x as fast on ascent, making it necessary to watch foliage doesn't clog your cams; beyond this: all of you "old guard" climbers out there who scoff at these things normally, give it a try! Tech and ideas for us dedicated climbers are night and day since the days of tying a taught-line hitch from the end of your rope! Keep it up guys!
-Andrew


I loves it - 08/25/2017
Reviewer: Ryan

Great addition to the kit for drt or srt. No fiddling around with set up if it's being shared and the adjustment on the floor with this over the original whoopie is a good bit nicer.


Get more work done - 08/21/2017
Reviewer: Dr. Greenthumb

I use my HAAS Velox with a Teufelberger Saddle with Tree Austria shoulder harness (a small piece of webbing from my right shoulder to a DMM XSRE tends my pulley), ArbPro Clip N Step boots, DMM XSRE carabiner (at the top), small non-locking DMM 'biner (at the bottom/shoe), and a Rope Wrench. If getting a whole lot of work done quickly while minimizing fatigue is your goal you need one yesterday. 


Perfection - 02/13/2017
Reviewer: Kyle armijo

Just took the plunge to srt....let me tell you, where has this been my whole life! Foot ascender, and this little gem is like having nos.

I have the clip version and a floop. I just leave it on my boot permanently. Clip the haas to my right D and it's never in the way even with my handsaw on that side. First time using this and very new to srt and this and srt is a total game changer. I feel like I have a wraptor.....I'm no longer concerned about having to come down. Now I come down.....help chip.....do whatever...then be back aloft in the blink of an eye, and you can to! BUY IT ASAP


Berkshire county climber - 01/27/2017
Reviewer: Will steinert

I have had this unit for 9 months I use it on every accent and when I get to my work position I just clip the bunjie lower for less tension. The velox stays on my foot for my entire climb. There for it's always ready to go. Clip the bunjie higher and you accending. My only modifications to the velox was adding 1.25" chafe sleeve to the foot strap. This will prolong the foot strap as I keep the velox attached to my foot the entire time I climb. Awesome product. When I ordered the velox tree stuff had it not in stock. I ordered it from Sherrill stink. But ultimately tree stuff gets the review.
 


Seems to add more complexity to my climb - 05/22/2016
Reviewer: NHArborist

I've only been on 10 or so climbs with the Velox; mostly on long hauls. First, I have to say that the build quality is excellent and have no complaints about that. I have been climbing for 30+ years so, I am probably one of those old dogs that takes more time to adjust to something new. However, I do climb SRT and my experience with the Velox has been unexceptional. I have difficulties getting the foot loop on and off, especially when in a tree or on a line. I also can't seem to find a convenient location to clip the bungee into. With a foot ascender, my Hitchhiker or Hitch Climber and all the other gear, I find that the Velox puts me into gear overload?. For long hauls, I have resorted lately to using a foot ascender and a hand ascender with a foot strap. It is easier for me because I just find it easier to quickly disconnect and stow the foot strap. Maybe it is a matter of technique. From the videos I've seen, the Velox seems to be the way to go but, I'm not there yet.


Improving the original! - 05/20/2016
Reviewer: Chris Lucas

The original and still the best! The original HAAS was the first real SRT rope ascent solution that allowed climbers to climb a rope as easily as a ladder, with very minimal gear. The VELOX takes the design and refines it with a new type of nylon webbing construction AND a new approach to the bungee cord design. The bungee is routed thru a milled aluminum sheave near the foot. This creates super smooth action with incredible range of motion for the climber.

The quality of construction is great and I expect to get a lot of good use from this thing. I loved the original HAAS, but the VELOX is where it's at!! Real advancement on every front!


Yes...I recommend buying one!!!
 


Must have - 05/09/2016
Reviewer: Joe Legate

The haas velox makes ascending SRT super smooth and efficient. I highly recommend adding one of these to your kit. I was on the fence about using knee ascenders until I tried this out. The added bearing makes the bungee work super smooth with a full return when lifting your leg up. Great piece of gear here! Get one!


Great piece of gear - 05/08/2016
Reviewer: JCUT

Just got the VELOX 2 weeks ago & this thing is awesome! I was using my bosses old HAAS and this is definitely a step up. The bungee travel is faster and it stays locked down on your boot as you are ascending. It works great clipped to the ring on my chest harness used in conjunction with the rope wrench. Buy it & you will definitely notice how much less energy you are using on those long ascents.


Awsome Advancement - 04/14/2016
Reviewer: Paul Goodman

Michael is a genius, I have had the original HAAS for over 3 years and loved it, after trying the Velox at Geezers this past January I have to say what an awsome idea with the machined brewing bungee block in it to give you twice the pull and twice the throw, it needed no dial in and was good at any attachment point from mid chest all the way down to bridge level. Awsome device and it will make anybody look like a David rope walking pro.


Props! - 02/04/2016
Reviewer: TL

Props to the original inventor. These things have made climbing oh so much better and more efficient!!! Gotta give props to Mumford too though. This new version has a lot of the ideas that he used to create the SAKA!


Submit a product review