Menu
Shop for Rope Logic
Shop for Stein
Shop for Notch Equipment
Shop for 3M Peltor
Shop for AlturnaMats
Shop for Arborjet
Shop for Arborwear
Shop for ARS
Shop for ART
Shop for Berger
Shop for Black Diamond
Shop for Buckingham
Shop for Camp USA
Shop for Climb Right
Shop for Climbing Technology
Shop for CMI
Shop for Corona Tools
Shop for DMM
Shop for Doggett
Shop for Donaghys
Shop for Edelrid
Shop for Elvex
Shop for Fanno
Shop for Felco
Shop for Fred Marvin
Shop for Green
Shop for Husqvarna
Shop for ISC
Shop for Jameson Pruners
Shop for Kask Helmets
Shop for Klein Tools
Shop for Knife Source
Shop for Lift-All
Shop for Logrite
Shop for Marlow
Shop for Matt Cornell Rope Saddle
Shop for Mauget
Shop for Metolius
Shop for Nargear
Shop for New England Ropes
Shop for New Tribe
Shop for Oregon
Shop for Petzl
Shop for Pfanner
Shop for Quali-Pro Chemicals
Shop for Rock Exotica
Shop for Rockman
Shop for Rooted
Shop for Salewa
Shop for Samson Rope
Shop for Samurai
Shop for Save Edge Files
Shop for SENA
Shop for Silky Saws
Shop for SIP
Shop for Skylotec
Shop for Sterling Rope
Shop for Sugihara
Shop for Teufelberger
Shop for TreeStuff
Shop for Weaver Leather
Shop for Wichard
Shop for Yale Cordage
Shop for Youngstown Gloves

Reviews for Arborwear Ascender Pants - Charcoal

4.8 out of 5 star average customer rating based on 42 reviews


Los mejores - 08/20/2017
Reviewer: Mayconflores

Estos son los pantalones de trepa más cómodos para mí que existe súper livianos y duraderos


Sweet fancy pants! - 03/19/2017
Reviewer: Matt P

This was my first set of fancy climbing pants, since the price tag on these puppies is pretty hard to swallow. After climbing for 25 years in less than superior trousers, I finally bit the bullet and "splurged" on these babies. I'm happy to report that I was not disappointed! These pants allow you to move more ways than Spiderman in and out of the tree, and allow for free range of motion without the fear of the dreaded sound of ripping fabric on your cheap pants, which ultimately results in you mooning your rear-end to anyone in the near vicinity. These pants are awesome, and are very durable! They run true to size as well!
 


Woo - 02/04/2017
Reviewer: Rew

Oh. My. Gawd. I love these pants. I didn't know I could feel this way about pants. I normally only wear saw pants to work, but these pants. I don't know if I already said it, but I. Love. These. Pants.


Pants! - 09/15/2016
Reviewer: Matt pregon

Great pants for climbing. Shed water very well and dry fast when working in the rain. Only complaint i have is the zippers on the back pockets. They need to either do away with them or add a flap of material to cover them. The zippers have reaked havoc on the leather seats in my car and my furniture at home. Ive got in the habbit of taking them off as soon as i walj in my door.


Charcoal - 07/05/2016
Reviewer: Jeff Richardson

These pants are great. Bought a pair of black before they were discontinued. By far the nicest fitting, most comfortable, lightweight climbing pants ive purchased

The problem I had was when I ordered charcoal the sizing was way off. I'm a 34X34 and the original black were 34x34 and fit perfect. The charcoal are noticeably longer,baggier, and now sit on the shelf and get zero use. Not good


ascended pant - 04/02/2016
Reviewer: robert

Ordered these pants a few weeks ago. Really well built. The only down side was they took off the ankle strap to tighten around your boot. And the fabric isn't as elastic as the old style. But all in all they hold up well and made to last.

 


Tree climber/arborist - 01/26/2016
Reviewer: Kyle Robbins

These pants are great for tree climbing. The elasticity is great in the saddle. The textured knees are great on cambium. I own 5 pair and have been climbing 10 years and haven't work a pair out yet.
 


Tough as nails! - 01/11/2016
Reviewer: Kevin

I've only had them for a few weeks but they are by far the most comfortable pant I've climbed in. Was going to wait longer before commenting on durability but after a 28" chain derailed and slapped me on the inner thigh breaking skin without leaving a mark on the pants I had to leave a good review immediately. Pretty tough and definitely comfortable pants.
 


Contest - 01/11/2016
Reviewer: Pat Russomanno

This are some of the best climbing pants I ever owned. . Everything about them Arbor wear took in for consideration when making these pants. Awesome pants for the $$ The fabric they use is awesome plenty of pocket space. . Just a great pair of Arborist pants


Los mejores - 01/03/2016
Reviewer: Maycon Flores

Son los mejores pantalones de trepa del mundo súper cómodos elásticos los uso todos los días


Lo mejor - 01/01/2016
Reviewer: Maycon Flores

Estos pantalones son súper confortables incrementan tu productividad en la trepa lo mejor del mundo


Basically the best - 12/31/2015
Reviewer: Ian

These pants are the shit... Durable and breathable. I've been beating the hell out of the same 2 pairs for 3 years now. No doubt worth the money.
 


Amazing pants - 12/30/2015
Reviewer: Paul Cokosky

These pants rock! Super light weight yet extremely durable. My first day wearing them I slipped and fell into a yew bush. I was sure the branch stabbing into my crotch had punctured the pants but was amazed to see they had actually stretched several inches without so much as a slight tear. I wear them year round with appropriate under armor. My only complaint would be that the velcro tabs at the bottom quickly unstiched from the pants. I super glued them to where I want them and because the pants are so strechy I have no problem putting them on or getting them over my boots.


The Best Ascender Pants For Tree Climbing - 11/25/2015
Reviewer: Louie Abrego

At first I was a bit worried bout these pants not knowing if they fit properly ,perfect fit... Love them.. But honestly they are extremely comfortable! I highly recommend them .


Total quality - 08/14/2015
Reviewer: B Young

First off the staff at TreeStuff are second to none! Now to the review...Even at first looks I knew these pants were top quality, the stretchy fabric, zippers. velcro etc. is all top quality, just even wearing them around the house they are very comfortable. I usually wear a size 36x31 and took the advice of ordering a size up and went with a 38x32 and the fit is perfect.


toughest pj's ever. - 07/23/2015
Reviewer: b. reid

Super strong materials offer high protection in the field, adjustable pant cuffs just make sense-great design, the stretch and wicking power keep me super comfortable: all together makes for a better day at work.
 


You will never wear another kind of pants again - 06/18/2015
Reviewer: E.Nobs

Do you wear jeans? If you think they are comfy, you are wrong. If Paul Bunyan came back to life, he would only wear these pants, heck Babe would wear em too! If the men that built that transcontinental railroad had these pants, they would have built it from Council Bluffs to San Francisco in a year. Don't be silly, just buy them and never wear another pair of pants again. They are good for climbing, hiking, sleeping, swimming and other amazing things like [input your amazing crap you do here]. Oh, the Canopy Pants are pretty sweet too.

If you want everyone to think you are awesome, put these pants on and you will be a dude wearing awesome, and that's good enough for me.


Worthy purchase - 04/23/2015
Reviewer: Steve T.

Luke and the Arborwear folks are top notch vendors and VERY customer service oriented.
I truly like the fabric, construction, and fit of the ascender pants. I have used them for many applications over the last several months. I would prefer cargo pockets on both sides but that is not a deal breaker. The only real thing that bugs the hell out of me is the knee armor. It needs to extend another 4-6 inches lower on the pant leg to protect the knee and shin contact areas. When I kneel or even sit in the vehicle the bottom seam hits right at the patella and nearly the whole armored area slides up my thigh. Maybe I don't understand it's purpose as well as the designers. Bottom line is I want knee area durability in all working positions. Overall well worth the money!


Great Work Pants - 04/11/2015
Reviewer: Kevin

Great climbing pants. Light, airy, tough and stretchy. Very durable.


Review Contest - 04/10/2015
Reviewer: Patrick Russomanno

This Pants are Awesome.. Very well built Super durable.. The 4 way stretch fabric make this the ideal Climbing pants for your modern Arborist.. The extra padding on the knees make these my favorite pants for doing removals.. Definitely worth the money for the price No ? So if your looking for a great pair of climbing pants for less then $200 then this are it!! Definitely Recommend


Stop thinking about and order them! - 06/26/2014
Reviewer: Jeff Opar
Wow, just wow. These are very durable but also very, very comfortable. They are too warm for me in the summer, but for fall, winter, and spring they are the best. I wear them outside of work all the time. I never spent so much on pants before, but these are absolutely worth every penny!


Great pants!! - 04/29/2014
Reviewer: Greg Daniel
I purchased the ascender pants about 6 months ago and wanted to really give them a good test before I submitted this review. I've been working daily with these pants and washing them just about every night! When I first put these pants on I was completely taken back with how comfortable they are and how your able to move with absolutely no restrictions!! These pants are VERY well built and the zippers in the pockets are high quality. I snagged these pants a few times expecting to look down and see a tear and was amazed to see nothing! My second work day with these pants we removed a few large pines and I got sap on the thigh and lower area of the pants, after a few more days working the sap wore off and there is no sign of any stain or sap! The only down side of these pants are in hotter temperatures I found them to be a little on the warm side.
All in all I give these pants a 9.5 out of 10, the durability of these pants are amazing and after spending $160 on these pants they certainly met all my expectations and more. In my opinion these pants are worth every penny, after 130 work days and 120+ washes they still look new!!
BIG thumbs up to Arborwear, they put together a high quality, durable pair a pants that I expect years of service with.


Awesome pants.... Zippers, not so much - 04/04/2014
Reviewer: Acorn Smasher
Let me preface my experience by saying that I love wearing these pants. They seem to be tough as nails and are extremely comfortable while climbing. The only thing I had a problem with is the zippers on the pockets. I love the fact that they have zippers. However, after three weeks of wearing these all the zipper-pulls have broken off. I'm not sure if it is just a fluke pair that I got, but it sucks to not be able to close my pockets. Despite my problem, Arborwear has been nothing but helpful. In fact I have a new pair on the way as I type. (Free of charge, of course). We'll see how the second pair holds up.


Just buy them - 01/20/2014
Reviewer: Andrew
Buy them, you wont regret it -- the best I've worn in a tree so far. Mine have lasted and lasted and they look and feel very professional


Worth the money-seriously - 01/17/2014
Reviewer: Markley
These are perfect-extremely light and cool, move perfectly with me, surprisingly durable for how thin they are, reinforced knee for even better wear right where you need it. I wear these daily and they still look new, the fabric is awesome, just seems to always stay looking clean. All pockets being zippered makes it worth the extra cash over the canopy pants to me-no more pockets full of saw dust


everyday!! - 01/07/2014
Reviewer: Cosme Olivera
I wear them every day to work I fall asleep n them n there still going strong for the last 2year


Best pants I own - 01/03/2014
Reviewer: Jon M
These are the most comfortable work pants I own. Pretty high price point, but when you realize that you've had them for a year, wearing them 2 or 3 days a week, and they still look almost brand new, it's worth it.
The knees are tough. I've worn them in the Hawaiian heat and the cold days in the PNW with equal comfort, an would recommend them to everyone.


Best pants I own - 01/03/2014
Reviewer: Jon M
These are the most comfortable work pants I own. Pretty high price point, but when you realize that you've had them for a year, wearing them 2 or 3 days a week, and they still look almost brand new, it's worth it.
The knees are tough. I've worn them in the Hawaiian heat and the cold days in the PNW with equal comfort, an would recommend them to everyone.


For us - 11/01/2013
Reviewer: Erik
If you climb trees for a living, buy them.


Great improvement! - 08/25/2013
Reviewer: Luke Glines
I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my ascender pant and I found out that zippered pockets had been added to the front. I still have 5 pairs of the old ones that aren't worm out after years of work, but the enclosed pockets on the front and the smaller size now readily available make me want to order more. And of course the great service from Tree Stuff make me want to order something just to have it on my front porch in 3 days!


Great buy!!!!! - 08/02/2013
Reviewer: Jake Allcorn
I started off with the tech pants cuz that what I could afford. They didn't last a month. I then tried the canopy pants. They are great for climbing but personally I don't feel very comfortable in them while working on the ground ie: cutting dragging brush and chipping. Then I bought the ascender pants. And I love everything about them l! They are comfortable, durable, and they give me the sence of extra protection that I felt was lacking with the canopy pants. I like the placement of all the packets and that they zip closed. It is safe to say I have found the pants I am going to continue to buy.


Buy these pants now! - 05/19/2013
Reviewer: Kurtis Okoktok
This review is after 1 very hard days work. So take it for what its worth. I can't attest to durability, I think that has been well reviewed by a previous post.

These are by far the most comfortable pants I have worn in my entire life! It was so hard at first to think about buying these because of the price, but wow! Worth every penny! Thank you to all the previous reviewers for your input. A huge thank you to Luke for the sizing info and unbeatable customer service. So if you are right now interested in these pants but are fence sitting because of the price... Stop it and just buy them. Your comfort is worth it and you won't be sorry.


GET SOME! - 04/23/2013
Reviewer: Steve K
Great product! I should have purchased a pair of these a long time ago. I have a hard time taking them off at the end of the day. They are the most comfortable pair of pants that I own. Luke, thanks for the help about the sizing.


Mobility - 03/10/2013
Reviewer: Zac
I just recived my pair of Ascender Pants and the mobility and flexibility they give while climbing is extraordinary. No word on durability yet but they seen pretty rugged. Love them so far.


Ascender Pant - 02/12/2013
Reviewer: Simon Vis
Some of the most comfortable pants I have ever worn. They stretch in all the right places and it feels like they are apart of your body. I highly recommend these pants to anybody who is into climbing of any sorts.


Nice pants, get the suspenders - 05/07/2012
Reviewer: Roy Harvey
Love the pants. Got them a little big because I don't like tight. Don't like wearing a belt, because the belt on my harness over the belt on my pants is uncomfortable climbing all day. I talked to Luke and he set me up with the Pfanner Gladiator suspenders. The combo is excellent. I love them. I wear 34" pants, got the 36" and they fit perfect, just very slightly loose.


The best pants - 03/30/2012
Reviewer: Joe
The arborwear ascender pants are worth every penny the pants are so comfortable and you can put them work and they will hold up. I didn't like the price at first but I gave in and got them and now I don't think I will ever wear any other pants for work.....


GREAT PAIR OF PANTS - 03/15/2012
Reviewer: Chris
Great pair of pants just bought my second pair. Yes they are a little warm but it's not bad! The Arborwear ascender pants have a good amount of stretch to them, also the fact that the knees are reinforced make them even better since i tend to blow out the knees on a lot of my pants! Only request is that you reinforced the side pockets with the reinforced fabric from the knees because when you drag brush it tends to wear. Other than that what a great pair of pants!


pajama work pants - 10/29/2011
Reviewer: Ethan
These pants are super comfortable and DO NOT restrict your motion when you lift your knees like the original cotton climbing pants do. They do very well in wet conditions. Even after you are soaked from the rain you don't feel uncomfortable. Very lightweight and breathable. not as durable as the original climbing pants but they are holding up well after three weeks straight without a wash. I will never wear cotton pants again. My only complaint is the price.


I like these pants - 05/04/2011
Reviewer: GP
I bought these pants a little over a year ago. Ive worn them at least 3-4 days a week for that entire year, so do the math & add in being washed twice a week. I love the way these pants feel & the utility of them is very well designed. Also, they are really not all that hot (I wore them all last summer in NC) Ive started to wear them less because they are starting to show wear, and I have also started to wear chainsaw protective pants more often. (which, by the way Arborwear...wake up, its coming, the US needs a good pair of chainsaw pants) I have noticed the following things after one year of regular use: -velcro on leg straps has come unstitched. - holes in front pockets. -back pockets have both blown out internally. -crotch, right above gusset is starting to unstitch. - i have worn holes in both ankles just from walking. (so maybe some reinforcement on the inner ankle is in order) not posting a hateful review, just what to expect after a year...


certified arborist/owner - 03/04/2011
Reviewer: robert hubbard
These Stretch Tech pants from Arborwear are awesome, I can move with ease and they are very comfortable and tried them in 80 degree weather today and they felt on the cool side...I'm very glad I bought them!


strong but warm - 12/12/2010
Reviewer: Marc Powell
these are a well built pant made by none other than arborwear. ive waited for arborwear to step into the new generation of work attire for some time and i have to say, the wait was worth it, kinda very strong pants, ive beat on these things for months on end, problem is, they are hotter then hell in the summer months due to the additional knee protection, ill never understand why companies dont utilitze zippered sides with mesh to help stay cooler in the warmer months and warmer in the cooler months like my rei pants do


Submit a product review