Menu
Shop for Rope Logic
Shop for Stein
Shop for Notch Equipment
Shop for 3M Peltor
Shop for AlturnaMats
Shop for Arborjet
Shop for Arborwear
Shop for ARS
Shop for ART
Shop for Berger
Shop for Black Diamond
Shop for Buckingham
Shop for Camp USA
Shop for Climb Right
Shop for Climbing Technology
Shop for CMI
Shop for Corona Tools
Shop for DMM
Shop for Doggett
Shop for Donaghys
Shop for Edelrid
Shop for Elvex
Shop for Fanno
Shop for Felco
Shop for Fred Marvin
Shop for Green
Shop for Husqvarna
Shop for ISC
Shop for Jameson Pruners
Shop for Kask Helmets
Shop for Klein Tools
Shop for Knife Source
Shop for Lift-All
Shop for Logrite
Shop for Marlow
Shop for Matt Cornell Rope Saddle
Shop for Mauget
Shop for Metolius
Shop for Nargear
Shop for New England Ropes
Shop for New Tribe
Shop for Oregon
Shop for Petzl
Shop for Pfanner
Shop for Quali-Pro Chemicals
Shop for Rock Exotica
Shop for Rockman
Shop for Rooted
Shop for Salewa
Shop for Samson Rope
Shop for Samurai
Shop for Save Edge Files
Shop for SENA
Shop for Silky Saws
Shop for SIP
Shop for Skylotec
Shop for Sterling Rope
Shop for Sugihara
Shop for Teufelberger
Shop for TreeStuff
Shop for Weaver Leather
Shop for Wichard
Shop for Yale Cordage
Shop for Youngstown Gloves

Reviews for Buckingham Friction Saver with Aluminum Rings

4.5 out of 5 star average customer rating based on 14 reviews


Most used - 08/23/2017
Reviewer: E. P.

One of my most used tools for pruning. Easy to use cambium saver. Helps mostly on Mondays when it's a little rough getting started.


Works great but can be hard to get through tight crotches - 06/19/2016
Reviewer: David

This is a great tool to have in your bag. Way better than running your rope over a limb. It is hard to get through a tight crotch though and I have gotten it stuck several times. Like Joel Campbell says the hybrid srt/drt is faster and in my opinion better.


great idea - 02/21/2016
Reviewer: Corey Clarke

This is a great product so much better on you and your rope then just though a crotch


yeah - 01/02/2016
Reviewer: Jimbwe

good to save rope and tree get the one with steel ring,, aluminium dont like concrete


No sap on my rope - 04/09/2015
Reviewer: Anthony Bauwens

Best friction saver for sappy pine trees, I barely install from the ground because isolating limbs is a waste of time but if you have a fierce tree filled with sap, this is your best friend.


Far too time consuming - 04/07/2015
Reviewer: Joel Campbell

There is nothing wrong with this friction saver, except that it's a bit too time consuming for my liking. Isolating a doubled rope.....getting all of the branches out from between the two lines.........this takes time and can be very frustrating. While the product is just fine and will probably last forever, I've given up on the whole concept. I now climb on a hybrid srt / ddrt system which eliminates the friction saver, while at the same time providing for rapid rescue, should it ever become necessary.


A must, watch size - 04/06/2015
Reviewer: Patrick K.

I don't regularly find myself using the 2' length as much as I thought. Reaching for the 4' all the time. Plus the rope (vs webbing) saver I mostly use now (also by Buckingham) seems to install and retrieve smoother.


Old faithful, not always user friendly - 04/05/2015
Reviewer: Daniel

strong, color coded and effective . . . IF you have a tree that will allow you to set it. Friction savers are great for protection rope and tree but they can only be set effectively if you can select a textbook crotch. Any crotch with epicormic growth, lumps, dead stubs will really pose a problem. In which case use the leather rope saver.


Use it - 04/04/2015
Reviewer: Garrett

I use this all the time. It's durable, affordable, and helps to extend the life of my rope.


Super Durable Friction Saver - 06/23/2014
Reviewer: Justin F.
This Buckingham aluminum ring to ring Friction Saver is an awesome cambium saver. The aluminum rings are excellent in dissipating heat from a double line setup. The device is super easy to install and retrieve in the tree. These tried and true rings have been used for decades and are still reliable and tough as nails. I would definitely recommend purchasing these rings in multiple sizes.


Simple and bombproof - 01/05/2014
Reviewer: Jon M
These are straightforward and bombproof. Easily inspected, last forever, a must have.
Use the abr utility ring to make it adjustable.


Great Value - 03/18/2013
Reviewer: Eric
These are a classic and of the ring style friction savers, these are probably the best value.


Arborist Aide - 08/03/2012
Reviewer: Daniel Halleck
Great cambium saver. Can get twisted if you don't watch when you send it up, but over all a great product that saves the tree some stress.


Review - 12/07/2011
Reviewer: Brian
What an awesome company. They stock wonderful products like this for a great price!


Submit a product review